Small stone – misty morning

Mist rose from the river like smoke from the heart of fire. It drifted without purpose between trees and hedgerows, over still water and flood plain masking hill and housing. Above the tree line a gold disc appears. Its edges are softened by the fog, but its formidable heat burns a way through to reflect on the flat face of a lake. My rumbles on regardless and my fellow passengers read or chat. Am I the only one watching as we pass?

About malekmontag

I am a writer and a wage-slave, and proud father of George Giraffe. I live in the UK, but I exist everywhere. My first stories were published this year (2016) in Short Stories and Tall Tales (Atla Publishing). Follow me on Twitter @Malek_Montag15. My Work is also available on Niume.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Small stone – misty morning

  1. SM Jenkin says:

    Wow, kicking first line. And I like “but its formidable heat burns a way through to reflect on the flat face of a lake”. Lovely image

    Like

Leave a comment